Christian Devotions

Numbered Days

Psalm 90:  16 Let thy work appear unto thy servants, and thy glory unto their children.  17 And let the beauty of the Lord our God be upon us: and establish thou the work of our hands upon us; yea, the work of our hands establish thou it.  (KJV)

The  first month of the year is half gone. One twenty-fourth of 2015 is past already. That’s 4-1/4 percent.  As I take stock of the plans I had for the year, I find that I am woefully behind.  Time that I had intended to do one thing has been usurped by someone else’s needs. My plans have taken second place.

But does that mean that God’s plans have been hijacked?

I don’t believe so. God’s plans are more important than mine. God’s timing is more precise than mine. God’s work is more pressing than what I thought I ought to be doing.

For more than a year, I’ve been in the process of converting one room of my house into an office.  I stripped it down to bare walls, repainted, installed a new ceiling fixture, purchased and laid a room size rug, all with the thought of it’s being a writing retreat for me. At this point, the desk, computer and main furniture has been installed. And the top of the desk is relatively cleared for a work zone.

But I had been using a different room in the house for an office, and there was a lot of stuff that needed to be moved into the new one. So there are still boxes of papers and projects and books that line the new office. All the past projects and plans were dumped into carrying cases and need to be sorted.

This will be a time-consuming project.

So I’m left with  a decision.  Do I put everything on hold until that sorting is done?  Or do I continue with my work in progress and sort as I go along?

Sometimes life is like that. There are things in our past that need to be dealt with. We have losses or transgressions that seem to stymie our progress.  If we have lost someone near and dear, we need to give ourselves a little time to grieve and recover our strength before we move back into the fray.  If we have offended someone, we need to try to effect a reconciliation before we move forward.

But much of the past we drag along with us and deal with it piece-meal as we go about our current work.

Verse 12 So teach us to number our days, that we may apply our hearts unto wisdom. (KJV)

Verse 12 Teach us to use wisely
    all the time we have. (CEV) 

Verse 12 ·Teach us [Make us know] ·how short our lives really are [L to count our days]
    so that we ·may be wise [L gain a wise heart].  (Expanded Bible)

Time is finite. It will come to an end for each of us. We have only this day, this hour, this minute, to redeem towards the work of God’s kingdom.

So how do we judge the interruptions in our plans?  Does our detour spread the love of God or the gospel?  Or does it simply fritter away our precious time?

Father, God,

Grant us the wisdom to see and to know when an interruption of our plans is part of Your plan. Help us to hear your voice and to be vessels of your love to those around us. Give us the grace to sort out our past even as we move into the future.

In Jesus’ most precious name.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

