Christian Devotions

Care

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.
And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. ~~ Philippians 4:6-7  (KJV)

The Message makes it even more clear.

Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life. ~~ Philippians 4:6-7 (MSG)

This has been a worrisome six weeks in our household. Friend-husband had a minor heart episode on December 7th. We went to the ER, where they ruled out a full blown heart attack. The next day, we saw his general practitioner. The GP lectured me about making sure we get him to ER with any symptoms because of his heart history and his elevated cardiac risk. He told us to take every incident of angina (what we evidently had experienced) very seriously.

Ten days later, we saw the cardiologist who recommended that we do a heart catheterization (angiogram), which we scheduled for just after the first of the year.  During that procedure, the cardiologist discovered two major blockages and immediately ballooned them out and inserted two stents.

Had we not had the angina episode on December 7th, these blockages might have gone unrecognized until they caused real damage. In other words, we dodged a bullet. We could have lost him.

Now I don’t believe it is just lucky that he had the angina attack on December 7th. I believe that God orchestrated it. God knows the inside of my husband’s blood vessels. He also knows my shortcomings.

For months, friend-husband had been experiencing extreme fatigue. Now I know – have known for years – that extreme fatigue is a cardiac symptom. I lost a precious friend a number of years ago simply because no one recognized her extreme fatigue as a cardiac problem. It was her only symptom.

God allowed me enough time to recognize the fatigue, and when I didn’t, He acted. God has my best interests at heart. He also has friend-husband’s best interests at heart. He trusted me with His much loved son, and I failed to take proper care of him. But God didn’t scold me. He stepped in and provided for my shortcomings – my failure to recognize.

The one thing I have done correctly is to pray for friend-husband. And when the episode occurred, I requested additional prayer from a coterie of praying friends. God answers prayer. He doesn’t hear worrying, stewing, and fretting.

I have a small sign in my office that reads “Worry is praying to the wrong God.”  When we worry, when we speak our worries aloud, we give the enemy ammunition to keep us from our appointed roles in God’s creation. Life is a battle. We cannot afford to give aid and comfort to the enemy.

When we have concerns, we need to take them to the Lord in prayer. He is in charge. We can trust Him.

Father, God,

Help us to learn that You are our watchful care giver, that You have our best interests at heart. Teach us to trust You with everything, large and small. Keep us from fretting over things we can do nothing about by calling us into Your presence to pray.

In Jesus’ most precious name,

Amen

 

 

Comments on: "Care" (2)

  1. Elizabeth Webre said:

    Oh my Judith! I so appreciate your wisdom in knowing that ” worrying is praying to the wrong god”. It is a message that my soul desperately needed to hear just now. Thank you for reminding me that when I worry, I minimize who my God is, the only God, the One who breathes life into that which has no life…except for Him…for He is I am. You have given an accurate name to what worry truly is…again…thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

