Christian Devotions

Now Amalek came and fought with Israel in Rephidim. And Moses said to Joshua, “Choose us some men and go out, fight with Amalek. Tomorrow I will stand on the top of the hill with the rod of God in my hand.” So Joshua did as Moses said to him, and fought with Amalek. And Moses, Aaron, and Hur went up to the top of the hill. And so it was, when Moses held up his hand, that Israel prevailed; and when he let down his hand, Amalek prevailed. But Moses’ hands became heavy; so they took a stone and put it under him, and he sat on it. And Aaron and Hur supported his hands, one on one side, and the other on the other side; and his hands were steady until the going down of the sun. So Joshua defeated Amalek and his people with the edge of the sword.

Then the Lord said to Moses, “Write this for a memorial in the book and recount it in the hearing of Joshua, that I will utterly blot out the remembrance of Amalek from under heaven.” And Moses built an altar and called its name, The-Lord-Is-My-Banner; [Exodus 17:15 Hebrew YHWH Nissi]

~~ Exodus 17:8-15  New King James Version (NKJV)

In today’s political climate, we see people carrying placards and banners and signs with the names of candidates or causes. And generally, they are not quiet about what or whom they support.

It makes me wonder why we aren’t as vocal and evident about our Lord and the things He has done for us. As I look back on my own life, I see places where He gave me huge benefits.

During the forties and fifties, our society was quite different from what it is now. Family meant that Dad had a job, and Mom stayed at home with the children. My parents had divorced, so my mother worked a job that kept her moving weekly or monthly, and my father lived in another state. But instead of being impoverished, God provided me with a home in my grandparents’ house, a godly physician as mentor, and a close knit church family. I grew up with a foundation of faith which was to serve me well in coming years.

When life brings problems, as it frequently does, my first impulse is to lean on the Lord. When you let Him fight your battles, victory is assured.

If you look at the scripture, Moses kept his hands raised. Raised hands are a symbol of praise. Sometimes it isn’t easy to praise the Lord. When finances are tight or relationships are fractured, praise comes hard. When we least feel like praising it is precisely the time to praise Him the most.

It isn’t easy, but if we are blessed, we have our own Aaron and Hur to help us keep our hands lifted.

Then when the battle has been won, we lift the banner in easy praise to the Lord!

Father, God,

Help us to remember that the battle is Yours, not ours. The victory is Yours, not ours. But in that victory, we win, too. Give us the grace and courage to proclaim Your victory in our lives.

In Jesus’ most precious name.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

