Christian Devotions

Where God Is

It was round about eighteen thousand measures: and the name of the city from that day shall be, The Lord is there. ~~Ezekiel 48:35 (KJV)

This verse ends the passage where God has divided the land between the sons of Israel. If you read from verse 29 forward, you will see that He made provision for each of the twelve tribes. And He was very specific about it.

As we look at our society today, sometimes we wonder where God is and what He is doing. Doesn’t He know that as a nation we’re in terrible trouble? Can’t He see that we need leadership and direction?

In fact, He can and does see all that is going on in our lives and in our world. Read all of Psalm 139. It tells us that He is with us – each and every one of us individually – at all times and in all circumstances.

Verse 5 is particularly comforting.

Psalm 139:5 Thou hast beset me behind and before, and laid thine hand upon me. (KJV)

Read it in The Voice translation.

Psalm 139:5  You have surrounded me on every side, behind me and before me,
    and You have placed Your hand gently on my shoulder. (The Voice)

It tells me that He goes before me like the point man in an army unit and follows me like a sheep dog herding the sheep. Nothing can get to me without His foreknowledge and permission. Nothing can happen to me that He will not bring me through.

Go to your bible and read the entire psalm. Let the words sink into your heart and mind. There is no place you can go where He is not there.  Wherever you are, there He is.

Listen to the words of this song.

Father, God,

Help us to see you at all times and in all circumstances. Let us feel your guiding, protecting hand on our lives. Grant that we may always be aware that where ever we are, You are there.

In Jesus’ most precious name.

Amen.

Comments on: "Where God Is" (2)

  1. Thank you, Judith, for this assuring reminder. G-d is indeed surrounding us and we are safe in His protection. A reminder I needed today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

