Christian Devotions

Now Sarai Abram’s wife bare him no children: and she had an handmaid, an Egyptian, whose name was Hagar.

And Sarai said unto Abram, Behold now, the Lord hath restrained me from bearing: I pray thee, go in unto my maid; it may be that I may obtain children by her. And Abram hearkened to the voice of Sarai.

And Sarai Abram’s wife took Hagar her maid the Egyptian, after Abram had dwelt ten years in the land of Canaan, and gave her to her husband Abram to be his wife.

And he went in unto Hagar, and she conceived: and when she saw that she had conceived, her mistress was despised in her eyes.

And Sarai said unto Abram, My wrong be upon thee: I have given my maid into thy bosom; and when she saw that she had conceived, I was despised in her eyes: the Lord judge between me and thee.  ~~  Genesis 16:1-5 (KJV)

Does God really need our help?

When God promises something, we are foolish and impatient to try to hasten its fulfillment.

Look what happens to Abram and Sarai. Sarai knew about God’s promise of a son. But she convinced herself and her husband that God was too slow and needed their help.

How many time do we do this? We hear a call of God upon our lives, and we start off well. But when things seem to be moving too slowly we decide we know how to help God make things work faster.

God knows hearts. We just know appearances. God has reasons for His time line we know nothing of. Sarai’s proposition seems to make sense from a human standpoint. But she doesn’t figure on the human emotions Hagar’s pregnancy can stir up in both women. And even in Abram.

You see, God has His own plans and doesn’t need our help to bring them to fruition.

What he does require is our patience and faith.

We need to draw closer to Him to bring our will into line with His, to reinforce our faith in His steadfast love, and to strengthen our patience to wait upon His timing

Father, God,

Help us to understand that Your will for us is perfect, that Your timing is perfect, and that all we need to is wait upon  You.

In Jesus’  most precious name.

Amen

First published January 6, 2009
Finite Reason or Infinite Wisdom
Comments on: "Does God Need Our Help?" (2)

  1. Ms. Robl,You are doing an awesome job on your blog and what a blessing to me! As I log onto my computer in the mornings at work, your blog is logged into my favs and I receive God’s word daily. I’ve neglected Him long enough and your blog helps me receive my daily word! Thank You! God Bless You today and everyday!!!

    Like

  2. Gail,I’m truly grateful that God is using this effort to bless you. Thank you for letting me know.Grace and peace,Judith

    Like

Leave a Reply

