Christian Devotions

I have proclaimed the good news of righteousness
In the great assembly;
Indeed, I do not restrain my lips,
O Lord, You Yourself know.

I have not hidden Your righteousness within my heart;
I have declared Your faithfulness and Your salvation;
I have not concealed Your lovingkindness and Your truth
From the great assembly.

Psalm 40:9-10  ~~  (NKJV)

These are David’s words. But can we also claim them?

Our culture is not really very sympathetic with the Christian world view these days. Many Christians are nominal Christians. Oh, we go to church on Sunday and can talk the lingo in private groups. But do we hesitate to speak of our God in public where we are not sure how our testimony will be received?

Can we say we have proclaimed the good news in the public square? Do we tell of the good things God has done in us and for us?

Do we speak His words and His heart – even when public opinion goes a different direction?

I’ve been guilty of remaining silent in order not to provoke an argument or debate.

I love people who are living a lifestyle that God condemns, but I do not challenge them on it. I pray that the Holy Spirit would touch them, convict them, redeem them.

But I don’t lecture them about their sin.  I have too many of my own to answer for.

What I can do is to brag on God and what He has done for me and within my own heart.

Father, God,

Open my heart and my mouth to brag of Your love, Your generosity, Your redemption of my sinful self. Strengthen my resolve to speak of You openly, unashamedly in the public square. Give me the words to help woo others to Your love.

In Jesus’ most precious name.

Amen

Leave a Reply

